HALLS HEAD BOWLING CLUB TIME LINE

Revision 1 - 16/11/2022 by Kevin Lobb

March 1989 Public meeting

First visit to the Club site



1989 Steering Committee

Keith Dhu, John Newton, Morris Pearce, Ric Francis, John Hiller, June Reany (now

June Lewer),

Rod Harrod, Evelyn Manton, Pam Walker



November 1989 First general meeting

1 December 1989 143 people joined on 'Day 1' (as shown on the commemoration stone)

Volunteering has been an institution from the beginning. First construction of 'A' & 'B' greens.



Late 1989 First club house installed. This became the grounds workshop

and was itself expanded in 2022

1991

1 November 1992 Second Club house

Opened by Wendy Fatin MP



1993 1994

1994 / 1995 Men's first Saturday pennant win

1994 - 1995 Division 2. K. Retell, R. Pearce,

K. Thornely, J. Newton, L. Pengilly, N. Cantrell,

R. Williams, D. Jensen, F. Suiter, D. Drage, W. Cousins, K. Greenaway, J. Ehlers,

J. Norrie, C. Balaam, J. Groves



1994 / 1995 Ladies first pennant win

1994 - 1995 Division 3. A. Cantrell, M. Edgar, A. Drage, A. Francis, G. Flint,

A. Carter, D. Sharp, V. Wyatt, M. White,

L. Hunt, H. Fox, G. Lay

1996 / 1997 Ron Pearce becomes President



13 September 1996 Third Club house

Opened by Arthur Marshall MLA -

Member for Murray.

1997 / 1998 Kevin Kuchel becomes President

1998 / 1999 Mary Chalmers becomes President

1999 / 2001 Dun Longva becomes President

13 August 1999 Jack Groves called 'eyes down' to 120 people

and bingo got started - We could not start any sooner because our club house was not up to license standard - there were not enough exits

in the shed. Jack continued to call for another

16 years.

On 12/2/2004 high roller started and Marlene Groves claimed first

prize (\$550).

2000

2001 / 2002 John Ehlers becomes President

2001 Corporate bowls started.

Thanks to Kevin Richards (Life Member) and Ron

Arnold.

Kevin has only recently stopped cooking bangers.

Ron Pearce became Life Member

2002 Colin Francis became Life Member

2002 / 2005 Kevin Kuchel becomes President

2003 2004

2005 / 2008 Mick O'Halloran becomes President

2006 Don Longva became Life Member

2007

2008 Mary Chalmers became Life Member

Jack Groves became Life Member

2008 / 1015 Bruce Walter becomes President

2009

2010 Evelyn Ehlers became Life Member

20112012

2013 Green 'D' installed.

5 April 2014 Upgrade Clubhouse

Opened by Dr. Ken Hames MLA -

Deputy Premier of WA

Area increased from 500 m3

to 1000 m3

Thanks to support from: HHBC resources, City of Mandurah, Dept.

Sport & Rec. and Lotteries

Commission.

We welcomed Peel Bowling to share our facilities.

2014 Green 'A' resurfaced.

Green 'C' resurfaced.







FI

2015

Stewart Foster became Life Member

For input as Builder of Clubroom upgrade.

Kevin Lobb became Life Member

For input as Engineer of Clubroom upgrade.

2015 / 2018

Kevin Lobb becomes President

2016

Green 'B' resurfaced.

January 2017

Foundation Stone commemorated. The plaque can be seen near the

flag pole.

Foundation members in attendance:

Peter Chalmers, Col francis, June Lewer, Beryl Pearce,

Mary Chalmers, Allison Barnes, Audry Francis,

Linda Robertson, Bob Williams.





2017

Greg Morris became Life Member Maureen Hewitt became Life Member

2018 / 2020

Phil Anning becomes President

2018

Lights installed on all greens with help from

City of Mandurah.

John Fowler became Life Member Pat Smythe became Life Member

2019

Coral Anning became Life Member Mick O'Halloran became Life Member Bill Cousins became Life Member

2020 / current

Bruce Walter becomes President

2020 / 2021

Men's 1st. Division Premiers Saturday Pennants Keith Bransby, Keith Guelfi, Stuart Anderson, James Butt, Rod Gumbleton, Peter Cole, Peter Nicolay, Richard Young, Ewen Apps, Neil Watson, Barrie Starbuck, Bernie Hett, Ron Kuziela, Denis Nagle, Bob Plater, Kelly Kay. Reserve Graham Steele.



2022

Kevin Richards became Life Member

Membership numbers pass 900 (250 Me bowlers, 240 Lady bowlers)

